Le CNRS
Université Paris-Sud
French

  Fluides, Automatique
  et Systèmes Thermiques

 Search on this site

 

   Home > Directory > C. Morize

Cyprien Morize

Assistant Professor P11

Laboratoire FAST - Bat. 502
Campus Universitaire - 91405 Orsay Cedex  (France)
Phone: 33 1 69 1 53727 - Fax: 33 1 69 15 80 60
Room: 209
email:


Teaching


Research: Erosion and Resuspension of Granular Bed, Convection


  • Destabilization of an immersed granular bed by thermal convection, in collaboration with E. Herbert (LIED) and A. Sauret (SVI).


  • The transport, dispersion and resuspension of particles occur in industrial fluid dynamical processes as well as environmental and geophysical situations. Whereas the resuspension of an immersed granular bed by fluid flows such as vortices or shear flows has been the focus of many studies, the ability to fluidize particles with a vertical gradient of temperature remains poorly understood. Using laboratory experiments with a localized heat source, we observe that a massive entrainment of particles into the fluid volume occurs beyond a threshold temperature. The buoyancy driven fluidized bed then leads to the transport of solid particles through the generation of particle-laden plumes.


  • Propulsion in the vicinity of a granular media, in collaboration with A. Sauret (SVI) and P. Gondret.


  • In various situations, sand and sediments can be carried by wind or water, which could trigger the resuspension of the granular bed. For instance, when a helicopter lands in sandy environments, its blades trigger air recirculation which leads to the resuspension of particles, thus limiting the pilot's visibility. Here, we focus on a unique situation, in which the resuspension of particles is both sought after and well controlled. Indeed, some bottom-dwelling fish, such as the flounders and stingrays, generate a flow capable of resuspending sand to bury themselves and avoid predators. By flapping their fins with oscillating motions, they create vortices and a recirculating flow that lifts the sand particles up and deposits them on top of their backs. A simple model experiment has been developed to study this situation: a rigid or flexible foil is placed above the sand bed to mimic the fin motion.


  • Erosion in the vicinity of structures, in collaboration with F. Lachaussée (PHD student), Y. Bertho, A. Sauret (SVI) and P. Gondret.

  • Erosion and transport of earth material is a leading threat for human activity and ecosystems. For instance, at the pier of a bridge, erosion can damage the entire structure leading to bridge failure. Achieving better hazard assessment requires coupling both the fluid dynamics around the structure (instabilities, wall effects) and the transport phenomena of solid materials. In this project, we propose to characterize the dynamics of entrainment of particles in the presence of flow in the vicinity of solid submerged structures (bridge piers, offshore structures, ...) using experimental approaches and mathematical models.


  • Tsunami generated by granular collapse, in collaboration with A. Sauret (SVI), A. Hildenbrand (LGMT), Y. Bertho and P. Gondret.

  • A tsunami is a wave that can propagate over long distances and can lead to considerable damage along the coast. These situations showed the necessity to predict or at least to evaluate the risk associated with such extreme events. In particular, whereas the most common trigger for a tsunami is a submarine earthquake, other geological events can be involved. For instance, landslides or cliffs collapse result in tsunamis that lead to important local hazards and need to be understood and predicted. The experimental set-up will be developed to model this situation in 2D by generating a granular collapse into a layer of fluid. The influence of the size and shape of the collapse, the water depth as well as other relevant physical parameters (density of the granular material, sphericity, ...) will be experimentally investigated and modeled.


Past research: Turbulence, Rotating fluids


Publications

Citations (google scholar)



Last modification: September 21 2015, 17:43:52.

Le CNRS
Université Paris-Sud
English

  Fluides, Automatique
  et Systèmes Thermiques

 Chercher sur ce site

 

   Accueil > Annuaire > C. Morize

Cyprien Morize

Maître de Conférence P11

Laboratoire FAST - Bat. 502
Campus Universitaire - 91405 Orsay Cedex  (France)
Tel: 01 69 1 53727 - Fax: 01 69 15 80 60
Bureau: 209
mèl:


Enseignements


Thèmes de recherche : Erosion et Resuspension d'un Milieu Granulaire, Convection


  • Déstabilisation d'un milieu granulaire immergé par convection thermique, en collaboration avec E. Herbert (LIED) et A. Sauret (SVI).


  • Le transport et la resuspension de particules solides se produisent dans de nombreuses applications, qu'elles soient industrielles, environnementales ou géophysiques. Tandis que la remise en suspension d'un lit granulaire par des écoulements cisaillés ou par des vortex a été l'objet de nombreuses études, la fluidisation de particules par un gradient de température vertical reste assez mal comprise. Des expériences en laboratoire, avec une source de chaleur localisée, montrent qu'un entraînement massif de grains se produit au-delà d'une température seuil à travers la génération de panaches chargés en particules.


  • Propulsion au voisinage d'un sol granulaire, en collaboration avec A. Sauret (SVI) et P. Gondret.


  • Dans diverses situations, le sable et les sédiments peuvent être transportés par le vent ou l'eau. Par exemple, quand un hélicoptère atterrit dans un environnement de sable fin, ses pâles déclenchent une recirculation d'air qui conduit à la remise en suspension de particules, limitant ainsi la visibilité du pilote. Nous nous concentrons ici sur une situation unique, dans laquelle la remise en suspension de particules est bien contrôlée. En effet, certains poissons plats, comme les soles ou les raies, génèrent un écoulement capable de resuspendre du sable pour s'enterrer et éviter les prédateurs. En battant des nageoires avec des mouvements oscillants, ils créent des tourbillons qui soulèvent les particules de sable et les dépose sur leurs dos. Une expérience modèle simple a été développée pour étudier cette situation : un disque rigide ou flexible est placé au-dessus du lit de sable pour imiter le mouvement des nageoires.


  • Erosion au voisinage d'un obstacle, en collaboration avec F. Lachaussée (étudiant en thèse), Y. Bertho, A. Sauret (SVI) et P. Gondret.

  • Les phénomènes d'érosion et de transport de matériaux solides peuvent représenter une menace importante pour les activités humaines, les infrastructures ou les écosystèmes (à l'échelle du kilomètre, l'érosion des plages ou des digues, à l'échelle du mètre autour d'un pilier de pont). Parvenir à une meilleure évaluation des risques nécessite de coupler la dynamique du fluide autour de la structure (instabilités, les effets de paroi, ...) et les phénomènes de transport de matières solides. Dans ce projet, nous proposons de caractériser la dynamique de l'entraînement de particules au voisinage de structures solides immergés (piles de ponts, structures offshore, ...) en utilisant des approches expérimentales et des modèles mathématiques.


  • Tsunami généré par glissement de terrain, en collaboration avec A. Sauret (SVI), A. Hildenbrand (LGMT), Y. Bertho et P. Gondret.

  • Un tsunami est une vague qui peut se propager sur de longues distances et peut conduire à des dégâts considérables le long des côtes. Les évènements des dernières décennies ont montré la nécessité de prévoir ou au moins de pouvoir évaluer le risque associé à ces événements extrêmes. Tandis qu'un tremblement de terre sous-marin correspond à la configuration la plus courante pour générer un tsunami, d'autres événements géologiques peuvent être impliqués. Par exemple, des glissements de terrain ou l'effondrement de falaises peuvent générer des tsunamis qui conduisent à des risques importants. Un dispositif expérimental modèle sera mis en place pour étudier cette situation en 2D en générant un effondrement granulaire dans une couche de fluide. L'influence de la taille et la forme des gravas, la profondeur d'eau ainsi que d'autres paramètres physiques pertinents (densité du matériau granulaire, la sphéricité, ...) sera étudié expérimentalement.


Travaux Passés : Turbulence, Fluides en rotation


Publications

Citations (google scholar)



Dernière modification : September 21 2015, 17:43:52.