Le CNRS
Université Paris-Sud
French

  Fluides, Automatique
  et Systèmes Thermiques

 Search on this site

 

   Home > Heat and Fluid Flow > drying of polymer films

Instabilities induced by solvent evaporation in plane layers


French version

Members : F. Doumenc, B. Guerrier.


Collaborations : T. Boeck (Univ. Ilmenau, Allemagne), E. Chenier (MSME, Univ. Paris Est), C. Delcarte (LIMSI, CNRS), M. Rossi (IJLRA, UPMC), B.Trouette (MSME, Univ. Paris Est), S.G. Yiantsios (Univ. Thessanoliki, Grèce)


Context Coatings are often obtained by drying a suspension or a dilute solution. The relationship between the drying kinetics and the coating quality is a complex problem involving coupled heat and mass transfers in a medium whose properties strongly evolve during the drying.

During the drying, the solvent evaporation induces a decreasing of the temperature and of the solvent concentration at the surface. Buoyancy or surface tension driven instabilities may then temporary appear, induced by gravity and/or surface tension. For polymer solutions, a stong increase of the solution viscosity results from increased polymer concentration.

Results An experimental set-up has been previously developed in the laboratory (cf. Toussaint et al., IJHMT 2008). The apparition and wavelength of the thermal convective patterns have been characterized for a large range of Pr, Ra and Ma numbers.

Theoretical and numerical studies have been developped to analyze the respective contributions of the different mechanisms on the destabilisation of the flow (thermal versus solutal, Rayleigh-Bénard versus Bénard-Marangoni), as a function of the two control parameters, initial thickness and initial viscosity. The transient behavior is taken into account explicitly (non-normal approach, numerical simulation).

The figure below is an illustration of solutal Marangoni convection occuring for a thin film configuration. Comparison of simulations with constant and varying viscosity shows that the effect of viscosity is significant in promoting the non-uniformity of solute concentration. Results are in agreement with the mechanism suggested in the litterature (Bassou et Rharbi, Langmuir, 25, 2009) to explain wrinkles observed on dry films. They can be viewed as the signature of Bénard-Marangoni convection occuring at the beginning of drying and resulting in concentration fluctuations that are frozen at the latter stages.

Simulation: Concentration fields for different times and different values of solutal Marangoni number (from S.G. Yiantsios et al., IJHMT, 2015)


Publications

  • Experimental characterization of buoyancy and surface tension driven convection during the drying of a polymer solution
    G.Toussaint, H.Bodiguel, F.Doumenc, B.Guerrier, C.Allain IJHMT 51, (2008). [Abstract ]
  • Simulation of transient Rayleigh-Bénard-Marangoni convection induced by evaporation
    O.Touazi, E.Chenier, F.Doumenc, B.Guerrier IJHMT 53, 4 (2010). [Abstract ] [HAL ]
  • Rayleigh-Bénard-Marangoni Convection due to Evaporation : a Linear Non-normal Stability Analysis
    F. Doumenc, T. Boeck, B. Guerrier, M. Rossi JFM 648, (2010). [Abstract ]
  • Numerical study of convection induced by evaporation in cylindrical geometry
    B.Trouette, E.Chenier, C.Delcarte, B.Guerrier EPJ-ST "Interfacial Fluid Dynamics and Processes" 192 (2011). [Abstract ] [HAL]
  • Transient Rayleigh-Bénard-Marangoni solutal convection
    B.Trouette, E.Chenier, F.Doumenc, C.Delcarte, B.Guerrier Phys. Fluids 24 (2012). [Abstract ] [HAL]
  • Free convection in drying binary mixtures: solutal versus thermal instabilities
    F.Doumenc, E.Chénier, B.Trouette, T.Boeck, C.Delcarte, B.Guerrier, M.Rossi IJHMT 63 (2013). [Abstract ] [HAL]
  • Surface deformation and film corrugation during drying of polymer solutions induced by Marangoni phenomena
    S.G. Yiantsios, S.K. Serpetsi, F.Doumenc, B.Guerrier IJHMT 89 (2015). [Abstract ]

Le CNRS
Université Paris-Sud
English

  Fluides, Automatique
  et Systèmes Thermiques

 Chercher sur ce site

 

   Accueil > Convection et transferts > séchage de films polymères

Instabilités induites par séchage dans une géométrie de film plan


English version

Personnes impliquées : F. Doumenc, B. Guerrier.


Collaborations : T. Boeck (Univ. Ilmenau, Allemagne), E. Chenier (MSME, Univ. Paris Est), C. Delcarte (LIMSI, CNRS), M. Rossi (IJLRA, UPMC), B.Trouette (MSME, Univ. Paris Est), S.G. Yiantsios (Univ. Thessanoliki, Grèce)


Contexte: De nombreux dépôts et revêtements sont obtenus par séchage d'une dispersion ou d'une solution initialement diluée. L'étude du couplage entre cinétique de séchage et qualité du dépôt final nécessite une analyse fine des écoulements et des transferts de chaleur et de masse, dans un milieu dont les caractéristiques évoluent fortement au cours du temps.

Lors du séchage, l'évaporation du solvant induit une baisse de la température et de la concentration du solvant en surface. Ceci peut générer transitoirement des instabilités thermoconvectives et solutales, induites par la gravité et/ou la tension superficielle. Dans le cas des solutions polymères, l'augmentation de la concentration en soluté s'accompagne également d'une augmentation importante de la viscosité.

Résultats: Un montage expérimental a été développé antérieurement au laboratoire (cf. Toussaint et al., IJHMT 2008). Il a permis de caractériser les conditions d’apparition et la longueur d’onde des structures convectives thermiques pour une large gamme de nombres de Pr, Ra et Ma.

Des études théoriques et numériques ont ensuite été développées pour analyser le rôle respectif des différents mécanismes sur la déstabilisation du système (thermique versus solutal, Rayleigh-Bénard versus Bénard-Marangoni), en fonction de deux paramètres de contrôle, épaisseur initiale et viscosité initiale. Les méthodes utilisées tiennent compte explicitement du caractère transitoire du problème (approche en modes non-normaux, simulation numérique directe).

La figure ci-dessous donne un exemple de simulation pour une configuration de film mince. La convection solutale est induite par les variations de tension de surface avec la concentration en soluté (Marangoni solutal). Le rôle prépondérant joué par l'augmentation de la viscosité avec la concentration en soluté a été mise en évidence. Les résultats obtenus sont en accord avec le mécanisme proposé dans la littérature (Bassou et Rharbi, Langmuir, 25, 2009) pour expliquer les plis observés sur les films secs: ils peuvent être vus comme la signature de la convection de Bénard Marangoni qui se déclenche lors de la première phase du séchage. En fin de séchage, le film se fige et garde la trace des fluctuations de concentration correspondantes.

Simulation numérique: Champs de concentration à différents instants et pour différentes valeurs du nombre de Marangoni solutal (extrait de S.G. Yiantsios et al., IJHMT, 2015)


Publications

  • Experimental characterization of buoyancy and surface tension driven convection during the drying of a polymer solution
    G.Toussaint, H.Bodiguel, F.Doumenc, B.Guerrier, C.Allain IJHMT 51, (2008). [Abstract ]
  • Simulation of transient Rayleigh-Bénard-Marangoni convection induced by evaporation
    O.Touazi, E.Chenier, F.Doumenc, B.Guerrier IJHMT 53, 4 (2010). [Abstract ] [HAL ]
  • Rayleigh-Bénard-Marangoni Convection due to Evaporation : a Linear Non-normal Stability Analysis
    F. Doumenc, T. Boeck, B. Guerrier, M. Rossi JFM 648, (2010). [Abstract ]
  • Numerical study of convection induced by evaporation in cylindrical geometry
    B.Trouette, E.Chenier, C.Delcarte, B.Guerrier EPJ-ST "Interfacial Fluid Dynamics and Processes" 192 (2011). [Abstract ] [HAL]
  • Transient Rayleigh-Bénard-Marangoni solutal convection
    B.Trouette, E.Chenier, F.Doumenc, C.Delcarte, B.Guerrier Phys. Fluids 24 (2012). [Abstract ] [HAL]
  • Free convection in drying binary mixtures: solutal versus thermal instabilities
    F.Doumenc, E.Chénier, B.Trouette, T.Boeck, C.Delcarte, B.Guerrier, M.Rossi IJHMT 63 (2013). [Abstract ] [HAL]
  • Surface deformation and film corrugation during drying of polymer solutions induced by Marangoni phenomena
    S.G. Yiantsios, S.K. Serpetsi, F.Doumenc, B.Guerrier IJHMT 89 (2015). [Abstract ]